My First Parasailing Experience

Sharon Kiprono
4 min readNov 17, 2021

Do’s and Don’ts

Imagine flying 600 feet or better yet, 1200 feet above a mass of water, with the ocean beneath you? Imagine the thrill, especially if you do not know how to swim like me, just in case anything goes wrong and you have to swim to safety.

I had never gone parasailing. It looks like fun but is it safe?

Can you have fun parasailing if you fear heights? How does it feel like looking far into the unending horizon of crisp blue waters beyond what the eyes can see?

Welcome to my first parasailing experience over the warm waters of Gulf of Mexico.

I love the ocean and I’ve always wondered what it felt like flying above the ocean from a boat. However, I had reservations because I do not know how to swim just in case I had to swim to safety. So, on my honeymoon, I challenged myself to get on a boat and just DO IT!

We are in Marco Island, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, rated 4th best island by Travel Advisor by 2014, and voted number one island in the U.S.

Despite it’s grace and glamour I wasn’t sure how safe I was trusting my safety to a boat pilot…

--

--

Sharon Kiprono

“It’s a wonderful world. You can’t go backwards. You’re always moving forward. It’s the wonderful part about life. And that’s terrific.” - Harvey Fierstein